APPENDIX D

ICG BOARD MEMBERS

Martti Ahtisaari, Chairman

Former President of Finland

Maria Livanos Cattaui, Vice-Chairman Secretary-General, International Chamber of Commerce

Stephen Solarz, Vice-Chairman Former U.S. Congressman

Gareth Evans, President & CEO

Former Foreign Minister of Australia

S. Daniel Abraham Chairman, Center for Middle East Peace and Economic Cooperation, U.S.

Morton Abramowitz Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State and Ambassador to Turkey

Kenneth Adelman Former U.S. Ambassador and Director of the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency

Richard Allen Former U.S. National Security Adviser to the President

Saud Nasir Al-Sabah Former Kuwaiti Ambassador to the UK and U.S.; former Minister of Information and Oil

Louise Arbour Supreme Court Justice, Canada; Former Chief Prosecutor, International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslavia

Oscar Arias Sanchez Former President of Costa Rica; Nobel Peace Prize, 1987

Ersin Arioglu Chairman, Yapi Merkezi Group, Turkey

Emma Bonino Member of European Parliament; former European Commissioner

Zbigniew Brzezinski Former U.S. National Security Adviser to the President

Cheryl Carolus Former South African High Commissioner to the UK; former Secretary General of the ANC

Victor Chu Chairman, First Eastern Investment Group, Hong Kong

Wesley Clark Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander, Europe

Uffe Ellemann-Jensen Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Denmark

Mark Eyskens Former Prime Minister of Belgium

Marika Fahlen

Former Swedish Ambassador for Humanitarian Affairs; Director of Social Mobilization and Strategic Information, UNAIDS

Yoichi Funabashi Chief Diplomatic Correspondent & Columnist, The Asahi Shimbun, Japan

Bronislaw Geremek Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Poland

I.K.Gujral Former Prime Minister of India

HRH El Hassan bin Talal *Chairman, Arab Thought Forum; President, Club of Rome*

Carla Hills Former U.S. Secretary of Housing; former U.S. Trade Representative

Asma Jahangir UN Special Rapporteur on Extrajudicial, Summary or Arbitrary Executions; Advocate Supreme Court, former Chair Human Rights Commission of Pakistan

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Senior Adviser, Modern Africa Fund Managers; former Liberian Minister of Finance and Director of UNDP Regional Bureau for Africa

Mikhail Khodorkovsky Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, YUKOS Oil Company, Russia

Elliott F. Kulick Chairman, Pegasus International, U.S.

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman Novelist and journalist, U.S.

Todung Mulya Lubis Human rights lawyer and author, Indonesia

Barbara McDougall Former Secretary of State for External Affairs, Canada

Mo Mowlam Former Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, UK

Ayo Obe *President, Civil Liberties Organisation, Nigeria*

Christine Ockrent Journalist and author, France

Friedbert Pflüger Foreign Policy Spokesman of the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group in the German Bundestag

Surin Pitsuwan Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Thailand **Itamar Rabinovich** *President of Tel Aviv University; former Israeli Ambassador to the U.S. and Chief Negotiator with Syria*

Fidel V. Ramos Former President of the Philippines

Mohamed Sahnoun Special Adviser to the United Nations Secretary-General on Africa

Salim A. Salim Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; former Secretary General of the Organisation of African Unity

Douglas Schoen Founding Partner of Penn, Schoen & Berland Associates, U.S.

William Shawcross Journalist and author, UK

George Soros Chairman, Open Society Institute

Eduardo Stein Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Guatemala

Pär Stenbäck Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Finland **Thorvald Stoltenberg** Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Norway

William O. Taylor Chairman Emeritus, The Boston Globe, U.S.

Ed van Thijn Former Netherlands Minister of Interior; former Mayor of Amsterdam

Simone Veil Former President of the European Parliament; former Minister for Health, France

Shirley Williams Former Secretary of State for Education and Science; Member House of Lords, UK

Jaushieh Joseph Wu Deputy Secretary General to the President, Taiwan

Grigory Yavlinsky Chairman of Yabloko Party and its Duma faction, Russia

Uta Zapf Chairperson of the German Bundestag Subcommittee on Disarmament, Arms Control and Non-proliferation